NASCAR Notes

June 17, 2008

Hey there… I still can’t believe how unbelievable yesterday’s playoff round at the US Open was and I’m thinking that if there is someone, to me, that seems as steadfast and mentally, physically tough as Tiger Woods in the world of NASCAR, I’m going with Jeff Gordon. He might not have the wins to show for it this season, but he’s creeping up with quiet consistency. He is 9th in the standings and this week, he has a better chance than anyone to wipe away the frustrations at Sonoma because he has won 5 times there .. he even won 3 in a row back in 1998-2000.

Gordon is also a year out from becoming a Dad. I got to talk to him during a rain delay last week (I will write later about our pit reporting schedule because it is pretty interesting how things work once we are on sight) .. but anyway, as we stood there waiting to go on tv, he was talking to me about Ella. She will be 1 year old this weekend and Jeff beams when he talks about her. He said she’s moving around a lot and pushing things (like cars). He did say that in the beginning, they (he and his wife Ingrid) had built a really nice area (crib, etc) in his motorcoach so that they could be prepared weekends at the racetrack, but Jeff admitted that Ella was starting to keep him up crying at night so they had to choose for Ingrid and Ella to arrive at the tracks on Sundays so Jeff can get his sleep.

That takes me to last Sunday at Michigan. I spotted Ingrid with Ella, in a purple and white little sundress, by Jeff Gordon’s car before the race. I hadn’t met Ingrid, so I introduced myself … she was very cordial, and she told me that for Father’s Day, they gave Jeff a card with a picture of Ella on it holding a card that said something to the affect of “Go Dad”…  Jeff also said that they are having a big birthday party for Ella in Sonoma (jeff also has a wine of his own which is another reason he loves this race…besides the fact that he is from Vallejo, CA) .. but as I was saying, they are having a huge party for her.  We are not invited, but I will be sure to ask and get some insight.  Am running out the door right now, but will check back in later.

Cheers!

Lindsay

Leave a comment